Everybody Likes a Good Pancake… On a Thursday Afternoon!

I’ve been craving pancakes for about a week now and I finally decided to get in the kitchen and make it happen. I’ve always been a fan of my mother’s pancakes but she prefers to make them from the box. As delicious as they are, I think I prefer to make mine from scratch. When it became clear to me that all of the necessary ingredients were just chillin’ out in my kitchen, waiting to be used, I decided to go for the gusto. Above all, it’s just not that difficult. One of my absolute FAVORITE food sites EVER is Carnaldish.com. My best friend followed a macaroni and cheese dish from the site and I’ve been hooked ever since. When I look at Resha’s pancake recipes I tend to drool all over my kitchen counter… Don’t judge me. Anyway, below, you’ll find that I basically stripped this fabulous original recipe down to the bare necessities, as this is about as fancy as my pancakes will get on a random Thursday morning *clears throat* or afternoon. Don’t forget to follow the spirit, should you want to throw in some fruit, nuts or whatever tickles your fancy. And cinnamon is always a hit too! Enjoy!

Ingredients – Enough for 1 – 2

*1 c – whole milk

1 c – all-purpose flour (I use unbleached)

*2-3 tbsp – sugar

1 tsp – baking powder

1/4 tsp – baking soda

1/4 tsp – salt

1 – egg

2 tsp – REAL vanilla (plus a few splashes more as needed)

1 1/2 tbsp – vegetable oil

Step 1: Add all dry ingredients to a large mixing bowl

Step 2: Add egg, milk, and vanilla to dry ingredients and stir with whisk. Add vegetable oil and stir until combined. No need to over mix, however, I tend to remove all lumps.

Step 3: Heat frying pan over medium heat. Coat frying pan with about 1 tsp (maybe a little more) of vegetable oil. Spoon or pour pancake batter into 2 to 3 spots, cooking until large bubbles appear. Flip! Cook for another 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Serve immediately with (or without) butter and your favorite syrup*.

*To be honest, I like to indulge in heavy whipping cream, so I’ll generally make my pancakes with that. I know it’s really fattening, so maybe you can do 3/4 c milk + 1/4 c heavy whipping cream, as I did today. Also, I say put enough sugar in it to please you. I hate a pancake without sugar. It’s just so… not fun. For my Baltimore folks, gon’ ahead and get you some KING syrup. You know you like it!

2 thoughts on “Everybody Likes a Good Pancake… On a Thursday Afternoon!

  1. I hope you don’t mind – I posted these yummy pancakes on my blog’s Tasting Menu Link Up Party! Feel free to post your own (extra!) recipe if you’d like! 🙂 And thanks for following Kimzkitchen!

Leave a comment