Greer!! What Have You Been Doing?!

Hey Guys!

I know I’ve been MIA and you may have been asking, “Greer!! What have you been doing?!” Well, to answer truthfully, I’ve been COOKING! I’ve made lots of dishes ranging from delicious oven baked chicken to red velvet cake swirled with cheesecake! Yummy!

In light of the fact that I am a carb junkie I thought I’d share a very recent dish that I found on Carnaldish.com. A couple of weeks ago, I had a small girls night at my house and decided to make pasta with mushrooms, pancetta, sage and grilled chicken. However, because I didn’t have time to purchase pancetta, I picked up a pack of applewood smoked bacon, which turned out to be the perfect fill-in! If you’re unsure on where to purchase fresh sage leaves, they can be purchased like this from your local grocer. The smell is simply AMAZING!

A note on mushrooms: Don’t buy them pre-sliced. While pre-sliced mushrooms have been a way of life for me over the past few years, I recently had a bad experience with them. I purchased a package of sliced portabella mushrooms on a Saturday and by Wednesday they’d gone bad. I was not a happy camper. Thankfully the white mushrooms that I’d purchased were still usable. If I’d waited another day, I doubt that they would have been any good. I told my dad about it and he said that he never buys sliced mushrooms because there’s just no guarantee that the knife or slicer used, was clean. I followed up with a friend of mine who is a chef by trade, and he agreed. He also said that once a mushroom is sliced, it’s best that they’re used that day. That said, think hard before you buy pre-sliced mushrooms!

I found this recipe over at Carnaldish, and it did not disappoint. At. All. Check out the recipe below, which includes my personal changes.

5 or 6 slices applewood smoked bacon, chopped

Olive Oil

1 box Capanelle pasta

1/2 large red onion, chopped (or more to your liking)

1 package of white mushrooms, rinsed and sliced

2 tsp fresh sage leaves, chopped

1 1/4 c low sodium chicken broth

1/2 c heavy whipping cream

5 oz freshly shredded Asiago cheese

Freshly shredded parmesan cheese

Juice of 1 lemon

Kosher salt, black pepper, granulated garlic, cayenne pepper

Prepare ahead of time: Brine chicken breast slices in salt water (place in fridge for at least one hour). Remove chicken from brine, pat dry with paper towel, season lightly with kosher salt and pepper. (Feel free to season, additionally, with granulated garlic and onion powder as well.)

Fill a reasonably sized pot with water and season with kosher salt and olive oil. Bring to a boil, then add pasta. Cook per directions listed on box. After pasta is cooked, drain and place back into pot. *Your pot should be large enough to contain your pasta, chicken and sauce once the meal is complete!*

Prepare chicken in a small sauce pan with olive oil. Cook until done, put to the side.

In a reasonably sized frying pan, cook chopped bacon until done; place on paper towel to drain.

Add red onions to remaining bacon fat, cook for about 4 minutes or until soft. Increase heat, just a tad, and add mushrooms to pan. Season lightly with salt and stir until golden brown. Add 1 tsp of sage and cook for an additional 30 seconds. Place onion and mushroom mixture in a separate bowl. Add chicken broth to pan and bring to a boil. Add remaining sage and scrape down sides of pan to ensure that everything mixes up real nice! Turn heat to low, add cream, Asiago and parmesan cheeses. Add 1 tbsp of flour. Whisk everything together until nice and smooth – add lemon juice and season mixture with salt, black pepper and cayenne pepper to taste. Again, whisk it up! Over medium heat, add cream mixture to pasta, combining until pasta is well coated.  Add chicken and stir until evenly distributed. Sprinkle with more fresh sage and parmesan cheese, if you wish. Enjoy!

One thought on “Greer!! What Have You Been Doing?!

  1. The meal was very tasty I am typically not a mushroom fan but the way that they are cooked down you can even taste them. Great meal Greer Keep it up

Leave a Reply

